Uncategorized

A Little Catching Up & A New Side of {Glimpses of His Grace}

It’s been quite some time since I’ve blogged, but that’s not to say I haven’t been hard at work on all things Glimpses of His Grace.  As some of you may know, I went back to work full-time at the end of September…the understandable – but until now unexplained – impetus for my sudden hiatus from writing.  But that’s not the end of the story.

I’ve always been fascinated by the artistry, creativity, and skill of the many talented photographers whose work I’ve followed, and dreamed of one day being able to capture beautiful memories for others myself.  I even fancied building a bit of a side business down the road if after getting my feet wet, I found that photography was something I truly enjoyed.

In February of last year, I invested in my first DSLR camera and eagerly began to learn and practice.  Suffice it to say, I have a lot of room for growth in my newfound skill until I’m anywhere close to where I’d someday like to be, but I suppose even the professional photographers whose stunning work I so envy started out as a beginner at one point!  Most importantly, I learned something about myself I never would have known…I love photography.  The entire process – from scoping out a new location, to working with a client to capture the perfect shot, to editing photos and designing my own packaging, to the smile on someone’s face when you hand them the final product – it all makes me crazy happy (dare I say giddy?).  But I’m getting ahead of myself…

By the fall, I felt ready to begin practicing on more than just our dog Ike and my hubby, though they both make wonderful and obliging subjects (for the most part).  I also knew that with my personality, I would never psych myself up to launch my photography the way I wanted to if I didn’t just force myself to jump all in at once.  So, with much encouragement from my hubby, I advertised openings for a series of mini shoots (for free, mind you – practice and a start to my portfolio was my only aim) on a Saturday in mid-October.  Thank you so much to all of my friends from our small group who allowed me to practice on you in my inaugural shoots!  I never could have imagined how much I learned in just one day.  A key take-away being this: For the love of Pete, don’t accidentally kneel in a giant fire-ant pile while while you’re stuck behind the camera.  I’ll bear the scars from that unfortunate encounter for a long time to come!  In all seriousness though, I learned tons from those first sessions.

Since then, I’ve had the opportunity to photograph several events for our church, and to take family portraits, photos for Christmas cards, engagement pics, and just this past weekend, my first maternity shoot.  And I’ve loved every bit of it!

While I’ve posted the sneak peeks of all of these sessions on my Glimpses of His Grace Facebook page, I’ve been remiss in sharing them here.  I’ll get around to that to-do item, but until then I simply wanted to touch base and catch up!

Becca Signature

P.S. Sneak peeks of my most recent session will be up on the blog shortly!

Standard

Leave a Reply

