Uncategorized

What I’ve Been Up To…

Well hello friends! (Just a heads up, my apologies for the utter randomness of this post, and the general lack of pictures, which by some blogging standards is a big no-no.) My goodness, it’s been a long time since I’ve written! But I promise I have a valid excuse…I’ve been keeping fairly busy working as the interim receptionist at our church for the past two months and, boy has it been a blast! I’m just about to wrap up my time there later this week, and I will definitely miss it.  I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the creative outlet it became, and by the friendships I found in such a short time.  It also opened my eyes to a whole side of the church that serves and operates behind the scenes in many cases and may not be terribly obvious to the average church-goer, but that is so vital to the larger aim of keeping a church moving, growing, and thriving in Christ.  Especially since Hubby and I hope to serve in the ministry in the future, it’s an experience I wouldn’t trade for the world!

In other news, I’ve enjoyed being back at work so much so that I’ve decided to search for another job in a similar vein.  It’s been a learning process because, in all honesty, this is the very first time I’ve ever had to write a real “civilian” resume and submit job applications. The military simply didn’t have much of a need for such things; your last year’s performance report was essentially your resume for nearly all intents and purposes.  As for applications, you could provide input to the Air Force in terms of where you’d like to move, or what jobs interested you, but ultimately you’d end up wherever the military called.  The last “interview” I had was for the Honor Chairman position I held for my last two years at the Academy…and that was over 6 years ago!  Anyway, I’m confident that God will open doors where they need to be opened, close them where He sees fit, and ultimately bring me to just the place where He wants me to work and serve.  Jeremiah 29:11 has long been one of my favorite verses and says “For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  Isn’t it comforting to know that, as a follower of Christ, our Lord knows exactly the steps He has planned for us, whether or not we can see them!  I’ll be sure to let you know how everything pans out!

So what have I been up to the past month or so? Well, where to begin?! Reading, I suppose…lots of reading. I’ve been gobbling up book after book with relish, and visiting the local library very nearly every Friday to return my latest reads and pick up the next few books I’ve had on hold (I’ve had Fridays off while working for the church).

Just this past Friday, I picked up my next novel from the library and proceeded to immediately hole up at Starbucks in an overstuffed chair, iced hazelnut latte in hand, to dig in. I’ve tackled the majority of my summer reading list with the exception of the last book on the list, but got exuberantly off track after reading Kate Morton’s work. Her novel The Secret Keeper was everything I wanted in a book and more; her writing style is powerfully evocative, her characters so intriguing and purposefully developed, and her storytelling so captivating as she slowly peels back the veil to reveal the truth at the heart of a family mystery. One night as I sat reading in bed next to my Hubby, I was so surprised by several revelations in the story that I audibly gasped “Wha??” (pretty loudly, I might add) and read the next few pages as quickly as I could turn them, only to gasp in surprise yet again at a twist I never would have seen coming. I haven’t been that captivated by a book in more years than I can count. I’ve always loved to read, but I feel as though that love has been rekindled in its fullest sense these past several months. I’m already halfway through my next novel by the same author, The Distant Hours, in only 3 days.  Suffice it to say, I highly recommend Kate Morton’s literary gems.  You can check out her website here.  I also loved Jennifer Worth’s poignant memoir, Call the Midwife, as much or even more so than the PBS mini-series it inspired.

I’ve been slowly paring down our household items to begin preparing ahead of time for our big move planned for next summer.  Hubby will officially be separating from the military in June of 2015, and we’ll be packing up for seminary a few hours up the road in North Carolina.  We’re very excited, but it will certainly be a big change.  And seeing how quickly the past few months have flown by, I have the feeling it will be here in no time!

Well, that’s about all I’ve got to write for today. Wishing you a relaxing Sunday afternoon. Until next time!

Becca Signature

Standard

One thought on “What I’ve Been Up To…

  1. Diana Burditt says:

    Great writing, Sweetie! I cannot wait to read some of your recommendations. I just have to carve out some hours for reading… (other than children’s illustrated literature!)

Leave a Reply

