Uncategorized

Project in Progress: Spindle Leg Side Table

Last Tuesday, two friends and I travelled to the town of Tifton to spend the day exploring the antique shops.  While I’ve often passed through Tifton on the highway and even met friends for dinner at a few of the newer restaurants on occasion, none of us had ever been to downtown Tifton to visit the shops before our daytrip last week.  We had our fingers crossed that our drive would be worthwhile, and we were very pleasantly surprised.

The downtown area had more than a handful of antique stores, almost all within walking distance, along with a few tasty local restaurants.

My favorite shop was a massive antique warehouse called To The Moon, just a block or so from the main street.

{Photo from Stacia Merry on To The Moon’s Pinterest}

Southern Pickers was  another good antiques store, where both of my friends found something that caught there eye.  And there was another shop on Main Street that I wanted to mention, especially since I bought some furniture there, but now I can’t remember the name. Although I know it was opened by the same woman who opened Pineapple Post. Hmm…well, I’ll be sure to add the name in if I find it!

I had my eye out for a few inexpensive pieces of furniture to flip and came away with two small side tables – one from To The Moon, and the other from…the place I can’t remember.  They both need a decent bit of work, but for a combined cost of less than $30, I couldn’t pass them up!

IMG_2085 IMG_2086

In the past few days, I’ve had to do a ton of sanding to get the old, chippy finishes primed for painting or taken off completely as the case may be, and deal with a few cracks in the wood and wobbly joints. But nothing a little wood glue, a few clamps, and some patience won’t mend!

The spindle leg table is first on my to-do list, and so far it’s coming along nicely.  I sanded the top down and gave it a fresh coat of English Chesnut stain yesterday.  It’s finishing drying as we speak.  I plan to give the top a light coat of polyurethane to protect against any moisture since that seems to have taken a toll in the past, and paint the legs and bottom shelf an elephant grey shade. After a little distressing, she should be ready to go!

Here’s the progress so far:

IMG_2135 IMG_2136

I love how the stain brought out so much variation in the wood and really made the wood grain stand out.  I’ll share the “afters” once I’m done!

Standard

One thought on “Project in Progress: Spindle Leg Side Table

  1. Pingback: A Project in Progress & A Project Complete! | Glimpses of Grace

Leave a Reply

