Uncategorized

DIY Ombre Hydrangea Wreaths

Hello friends!  While April showers bring May flowers, the abundance of rain here has made it difficult to enjoy the spring flowers outdoors this past week.  So I’ve been busy gathering a few flowers of my own to enjoy.  Last Thursday I took a jaunt across town to Michael’s for a little inspiration and was pleasantly surprised to find that all of the spring florals were 50% off!  Suffice it to say, I nabbed myself a cart right quick and loaded up!  Hydrangeas are by far my favorite flower and they had a row full of spring hydrangea stems in the most beautiful colors on sale.

IMG_1915

I made this hydrangea wreath for our front door last spring and decided to purchase the supplies to make a few more wreaths in different styles this time around.

IMG_0506

If you’re interest in making your own ombre hydrangea wreath, feel free to follow along!  You’ll need the following supplies for one wreath:

  • 18″ grapevine wreath
  • 3 hydrangea stems in varying shades
  • 1 stem of spring filler (I split my filler between 2 wreaths)
  • wire clippers
  • hot glue gun

I also bought some small 4″x6″ chalkboards that I considered attaching to the right side of the wreaths for personalization or monograms to be added in chalk later, but decided against it for the time being.

IMG_1947

First, you’ll need to trim the hydrangeas since the flowers are attached to about 18″ worth of stem when you  first buy them.  I trimmed mine to have about 2 inches of stem below the base of the flower.  You want to make sure that the stems will be long enough to provide a solid anchor for the flowers once they’re glued into the wreath, but not so long that they poke through the other side of the wreath.  Be sure to hang onto the leaves, which should separate easily from the stems, and set them aside for later.

Before I began glueing, I placed the flowers into the wreath so I could make sure I liked how they looked before making it permanent.  I’m not sure how everyone else does it, but I prefer to attach the stems more securely by weaving/poking them back through the vines of the wreath for a snug fit so the hot glue is just extra protection against the wind if the wreath is displayed outside.

IMG_1950

Once I was satisfied with the placement of the flowers, I took them out one at a time, glued about 4 strips of hot glue down along the 2″ of stem, and placed the flowers back into the wreath in their original location making sure that the glue got attached to the vines as I poked the stems through.

IMG_1949

Next, I took the leaves and tucked them in under and around the hydrangeas, using a strip of hot glue along the vein on the underside of the leaves to attach them to the wreath itself.  Finally, I clipped the foliage off of the filler stem and used half to fill in some of the blank space at the bottom of the wreath.  As with the leaves, I simply ran a line of hot glue along the back of each bit of filler to keep it in place.  Here are the final results in two different color families…

IMG_1952 IMG_1955

What do you think?  Since coral is one of my favorite on-trend colors lately and have always been drawn to bright, summery colors, I’d have to say the one on the left is my favorite…but I’m pretty pleased with both! And the best part of all is that they were both made for about 50% of what they would normally have cost thanks to the perfectly-timed sale.  Way to go, Michael’s!!  I still have the supplies to make 2 more wreaths sitting on my craft table, so hopefully I’ll get to them soon!

Hope you enjoy making your own spring wreath as much I did!

Shared on:

Prototype Mama
Living The Domesticated Life
Standard

3 thoughts on “DIY Ombre Hydrangea Wreaths

Leave a Reply

